top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEve Rose

5 ways to prepare for your year abroad

(in Stitch GIFS)


No matter how much you prepare, you will never be fully in control of what happens on your year abroad, but that’s the fun part! Not knowing what’s coming can be exciting. However if you’re an over-thinker, much like myself, you might want some advice to bear in mind in the lead-up to your new adventure.

RESEARCH


RESEARCH your new area. And do so with an open mind. If you were hoping to end up in a city, but have been allocated a pueblo (small Spanish village) then you might be a little disappointed and reluctant to put energy into your preparation. BUT, wouldn’t you rather know the essentials before you arrive, to save yourself from feeling lost? Knowing the local transport situation, the best hang-out areas and opening times of local shops are great to know beforehand, as you’ll likely be overwhelmed in your first few days in your new town. Due to visa delays, it may be difficult to try and get to your new town before your placement starts, to really settle in. So, having some basic local knowledge will really help.




BUDGET

If you’re a student, you may also be receiving an additional grant or student maintenance loans to help fund your year abroad (not jealous, promise). This will be more than enough, along with your monthly stipend from the Spanish council, to live in a small town.


If you’re a graduate, you may have been working full-time before applying for the programme. It’s really advisable to have some savings under your belt. You’ll be awarded around 700€ each month for the teaching role, however payments are often delayed. I love the relaxed Spanish culture, but I wish this didn’t also apply to pay-days. I saved around £8,000 before heading abroad. Which was really unnecessary. However I’m always irrationally prepared for the end of the world which may include paying off a Spanish farmer to hide me in his cow shed in case I accidentally insult the local community. Really, it was not necessary.




CONNECT

It may feel awkward, but do it. I joined my town’s local Facebook page and introduced myself when I was trying to find somewhere to rent. The smaller towns are often community-orientated, so a polite post on how you’re super-excited to live in their town will be good in case you need any local assistance down the line, and being nice feels good.


To connect with other language assistants, there’s a myriad of Facebook groups and WhatsApp groups you can find within about 10 minutes of searching online. These online communities are a life-saver when it comes to admin issues and any problems you’re having. Trust me, no matter how odd your problem is in your town, there’s undoubtedly someone also going through the same thing. It’s also a great way to see who’s nearby if you wanted to hang out, too!



PRESENT YOURSELF


Being British, it can feel uncomfortable to talk about yourself, and the cool things that you’ve done! In a country like Spain, blow your own trumpet, they love it. I’ve never come across more self-confident people than I have in Spain, which is great! And infectious. A presentation about yourself is a great way to start your experience abroad. I put a video together about me, and my motivations for coming to Spain, and sent it to my school. They really loved it! And it gave them a flavour of my personality. You don’t have to do this, but putting together a 10-minute presentation to give when you arrive would be a bonus. It also allows students to use their English skills to ask questions about you and your presentation.



LEARN THE LANGUAGE (optional)

Yep, it sounds arrogant to list learning the language as ‘optional’, but hear me out.

KNOWING SPANISH IS NOT MANDATORY FOR THE PROGRAMME.

And you can definitely get away with Google Translate and some wavy hand-gestures. I say this because your role at your school is to speak English. Of course, knowing the language can complement your experience, but if it’s stressful for you then that’s okay. I have been trying to learn Spanish for a while, and I can hold a conversation for all of a minute. However I’ve come to accept that the magic brain-part that multi-linguists have is not in my head. I used to also get overwhelmed trying to communicate in Spanish, when using a translate app did just as well. DON’T make life harder for yourself.


If you DO want to learn Spanish, then there are often language schools offering classes. They can be a little pricey, though, so it might be better to exchange your english with a Spanish local in a more casual setting (bar or cafe, not at a stranger’s house).


‘TA LUEGOOOO


The rest is down to you, if you want. Surprises are fun. Want more tips? Have a gander through my site sections, maybe you’ll find something you didn’t expect. If you had any specific questions about the programme, drop me a DM on my Instagram.




68 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page